Ingredient file // Animal protein
Beef Cartilage
Real cartilage, with no proven joint relief
Beef cartilage is flexible tissue from cattle joints or airways. It adds collagen and chondroitin sulfate to kibble, but an ingredient listing gives no dose and no evidence that the finished food relieves a dog's joint pain.
- What it is
- Flexible cattle tissue from joints or airways, made largely of collagen and cartilage compounds.
- Made from
- Cartilage from cattle joints or airways
- Main job
- Adds collagen rich animal tissue
- Typical amount
- Not published
- Watch for
- Dogs with a diagnosed beef allergy
- Not the same as
- Purified chondroitin sulfate
Our read // In our catalog
In 1 of every 422 foods we track
Share of foods that list it
0%
6 of the 2,533 foods with an ingredient list on file, from 3 brands. All dry dog food.
Each square is 1% of the catalog
Where it sits on the label
Median position 21. In the top five of 0 foods, so it is usually a minor ingredient.
Above the salt
Listed before the salt in 50% of foods. In the rest it is under about 1% of the recipe.
Price per lb
Median of the cheapest bag price across 2 priced foods, 22% above the catalog. The price is the food's, not the ingredient's.
Who leans on it
50%
of the foods that list it are from Merrick. 3 brands use it in total.
What it is
How it is made
Meat processing separates cartilage from cattle parts sold for other uses. A published pet food process grinds connective tissue before cooking it into food, but an ingredient label does not disclose how a particular supplier prepares its cartilage.4,6,7
- 01 // Source Cattle cartilage Joint surfaces and airways contain cartilage that gives those structures flexible support.
- 02 // Process Separated Cartilage is removed during cattle processing, apart from meat cuts sold for other uses.
- 03 // Process Ground for use One published pet food process grinds cattle connective tissue before mixing it into a recipe.
- 04 // Output Beef cartilage Prepared cartilage enters pet food production, where commercial kibble receives heat treatment.
What is in it
Composition, dry matter
54
% collagen
A calculated share of sampled cattle knee cartilage. It describes that tissue, not a guaranteed collagen content in kibble.
Why it is in the bag
What the manufacturer gets
-
01
Adds collagen rich tissue
Cartilage contributes animal protein, much of it collagen. Its presence should not be read as a measure of muscle meat in the finished food.4,9
-
02
Supports a joint claim
Cartilage contains chondroitin sulfate. Naming it on the label lets a manufacturer point to that compound without stating how much the finished food supplies.4,9
-
03
Uses a cattle coproduct
Selling separated cattle tissue for pet food gives material outside the meat case an economic use. That does not demonstrate a joint benefit.6,8
How much No typical amount is published; one patent used about 25% mixed cattle connective tissue and liver, not beef cartilage alone.7
Our read // The claims
What the evidence supports
Strong: controlled studies in dogs agree. Some: small or mixed dog data. Thin: mechanism or lab work only. None: nothing, or the evidence points the other way.
-
Brands say
Beef cartilage supplies chondroitin sulfate
Evidence
- Strong
- Some
- Thin
- None
Researchers calculated 16.4% chondroitin sulfate in dry knee cartilage from 2 steers. Its presence in cartilage is real, but that small tissue study gives no chondroitin dose for a finished dog food.4
-
Brands say
Beef cartilage relieves arthritis pain
Outruns the evidence
Evidence
- Strong
- Some
- Thin
- None
A corrected, industry funded trial of 75 dogs found no significant walking force improvement from purified glucosamine and chondroitin. A broader review also found little support. Neither tested beef cartilage in kibble.1,2,3
-
Brands say
Its collagen rebuilds worn joints
Outruns the evidence
Evidence
- Strong
- Some
- Thin
- None
A review covering 72 trials assessed pain outcomes from prepared products and found weak collagen evidence. It did not test beef cartilage in kibble or show that eating collagen rebuilds damaged joints.3
-
Critics say
Beef cartilage is just filler
Outruns the evidence
Evidence
- Strong
- Some
- Thin
- None
The sampled dry tissue contained 54% collagen and 16.4% chondroitin sulfate. Cartilage adds animal material to a recipe, though the ingredient listing cannot tell you its amount or prove a joint benefit.4,9
Straight answers
What owners ask
-
Q01
Is it just filler?
NoIt supplies collagen rich animal tissue and chondroitin sulfate. Those are real constituents, even though the listing does not reveal their amounts in the food or show that the food relieves joint pain.4,9
-
Q02
Is it a joint supplement?
NoAn ingredient listing provides no chondroitin or glucosamine dose. Studies of measured, prepared supplements cannot show what an unspecified amount of beef cartilage does in a finished kibble.1,3,9
-
Q03
How much is in the food?
Not disclosedIngredients are listed from most to least by weight, but that order gives no beef cartilage percentage. A patented recipe using mixed cattle tissues cannot supply a standard amount for cartilage alone.7,9
Who uses it
Brands, best sellers and the company it keeps
Top brands, by foods that list it
Usually listed with, share of the foods that list it
- Beef 83%
- Lamb Meal 83%
- Dried Egg Product 67%
- Sweet Potatoes 50%
- Tapioca 50%
- Beef Liver 50%
- Salmon Meal 50%
- Pork Meal 33%
- Pork Flavor 33%
- Pork Fat 33%
- Flaxseed 33%
- Brown Rice 33%
Our read // On the bag
Read it as tissue, not joint treatment
A beef cartilage listing tells you the food contains cattle tissue, not a measured arthritis treatment. Its position shows its relative weight among the ingredients, so check the named protein sources around it. If joint care is why you are choosing the bag, look for measured amounts and evidence on the finished food.
Sources
What we read
Checked October 1, 2026.
- 1 Study of the effectiveness of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate, marine based fatty acid compounds (PCSO-524 and EAB-277), and carprofen for the treatment of dogs with hip osteoarthritis: A prospective, block-randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled clinical trial
- 2 Corrigendum: Study of the effectiveness of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate, marine based fatty acid compounds (PCSO-524 and EAB-277), and carprofen for the treatment of dogs with hip osteoarthritis: a prospective, block-randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled clinical trial
- 3 A 2022 Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Enriched Therapeutic Diets and Nutraceuticals in Canine and Feline Osteoarthritis
- 4 Digestion of articular cartilage by papain in vitro
- 5 Critically appraised topic on adverse food reactions of companion animals (2): common food allergen sources in dogs and cats
- 6 Byproducts
- 7 Concentration of glycosaminoglycans and precursors thereto in food products
- 8 Dry rendering process
- 9 What's in the Ingredients List?