Bil-Jac
Inside The Bil-Jac Range
Protein runs lower than the average kibble we review (27.5% vs 30.1% on a dry matter basis).
Starch is higher than average, at 39% of the food as fed.
100% of recipes lead with a meat, fish or egg ingredient (90% across the site).
25% of recipes are grain-free.
How The Range Measures Up
this range, lowest to highest its average average of all 2,627 foods we review
Starch is our estimate from the guaranteed analysis, since no manufacturer prints it. How we work it out
What Goes In The Bowl
Share of recipes that list each animal protein as an ingredient, not counting oils, fats or flavorings. Useful if your dog has a food sensitivity.
Ingredients Some Owners Avoid
These are not unsafe. They are listed because readers ask about them.
- Adult14
- Puppy4
- Senior3
- All Breeds28
- Large Breed5
- Small Breed5
- Medium Breed1
- Grain-free (no wheat, corn, rice, barley or oats)8
About Bil-Jac
- Ownership
- Privately held
- Founded
- 1947
- Headquarters
- Medina, Ohio
Who Makes It
Bil-Jac is made by Bil-Jac Foods, Inc., a dog food company based in Medina, Ohio, that sells dry kibble, frozen food, wet food and treats. The company says its dry food is slow-cooked in small batches rather than extruded, and says it uses 25 lbs. of fresh chicken to make a 30 lb. bag. 1, 2, 3
Where It Is Made
Bil-Jac Foods runs its own facilities in Berlin, Maryland, and Medina, Ohio. The Berlin plant opened in 1987 to make dry kibble, while frozen food had been made in Medina for the previous 40 years. 4, 5
History
Brothers Bill and Jack Kelly founded Bil-Jac in Medina, Ohio, in 1947, starting with a frozen dog food, and the company added dry food in the 1980s. In January 2025, the Chicago private equity firm Entrepreneurial Equity Partners (e2p) announced an investment in Bil-Jac in partnership with Ray Kelly, the founder's son. Financial terms and the size of the stake were not disclosed. 2, 6, 7
Worth Knowing
In August 2012, Bil-Jac recalled a limited number of 6 lb. bags of Adult Select Formula dry dog food (lot code 1792-02) because of possible mold contamination. 8
- bil-jac.com/contact-us
- bil-jac.com/our-story
- bil-jac.com/the-dog-blog/posts/introducing-bil-jac-30-20-performance-high-protein-nutrition-for-active-dogs
- baysideoc.net/berlin-made-bil-jac-dog-food-marks-75-years
- citybiz.co/article/685084/bil-jac-foods-appoints-michael-greenwell-ceo
- e2p.com/news/e2p-adds-new-portfolio-company-bil-jac-foods
- just-food.com/news/entrepreneurial-equity-partners-invests-bil-jac-foods
- dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-recalls/bil-jac-dog-food-recall
Researched from the sources above. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.
No Recalls In Our Record Since 2012
Our log holds FDA dog food recall notices from 2012 on, so this is not a guarantee that Bil-Jac has never had one. See the recall log
What Bil-Jac Has Announced
Bil-Jac appointed Danny Waite, a longtime Hill's Pet Nutrition executive, as chief commercial officer. e2p
Bil-Jac named Michael Greenwell, formerly of Post Consumer Brands' pet division and The Honest Kitchen, as chief executive officer. citybiz
Bil-Jac introduced 30/20 Performance, an all life stages dry food with 30% protein and 20% fat for active and sporting dogs. The brand said it was available at PetSmart. Bil-Jac
Just Food reported on e2p's investment in Bil-Jac and noted that the financial terms and the size of the stake were not disclosed. Just Food
Chicago private equity firm Entrepreneurial Equity Partners invested in Bil-Jac Foods in partnership with Ray Kelly. Former Petco CEO Ron Coughlin joined the company as executive chairman. e2p
Think You Know What Your Dog Can Eat?
Ten everyday foods. Safe, In Moderation or Never. No googling, no second guesses. Then share your score with your friends, however embarrassing it turns out to be.
115 foods in the deck. Grapes are in there. So is cheese.
Think You
Know?
Ten foods, one at a time. Call each one Safe, In Moderation or Never, then flip the card to see if you had it right. The ones you miss are listed at the end.
Keys: 1 Safe 2 Moderation 3 Never Enter Next
Copied. Paste it anywhere your friends will see it.
Want the reason behind every answer? The 80-page e-book, $7.99
Now, is your dog's food any good?
Look it up: estimated starch, calories per cup and every ingredient, for 2,629 foods.